Sex Offender Information

Sorry, this page has moved!
Please click here to go to the new location.

Sex Offender Information

Sex Offender Registration is completed by appointment on Tuesdays from 9:00AM - 1:00PM and on Thursdays 1:00PM – 4:00PM.  To schedule an appointment please call (925) 371-4795.

Megan's Law

Not every registered sex offender will appear on this Internet web site. Approximately 25% of registered sex offenders are excluded from public disclosure by law. Whether public disclosure is permitted is based on the type of sex crime for which the person's required to register.

History of Megan’s Law

Megan Kanka photo
In 1995, a convicted child molester was arrested for the murder and rape of 7 year-old Megan Kanka in a New Jersey suburb. The offender lived right across the street from the Kanka residence, however the Police Department was prohibited from disclosing the presence of this child molester because at time the law did not allow the release of sex offender information to the public. The law was changed to permit the release of this information to the public and on May 8, 1996, President Clinton signed the law, dubbed "Megan's Law" in remembrance of Megan Kanka.

The California State Legislature signed California's version of Megan's Law into effect on September 25, 1996. This law was implemented to allow potential victims to protect themselves and allow parents to protect their children. Expanded access was given final passage by the Legislature on August 24, 2004. The law allowed the public to access information on sex offenders required to register with local law enforcement.

 Megan's Law Registration Requirements

  • Convicted sex offenders must register annually within 5 working days of birthday and when changing residence address.
  • Transient sex offenders must register in person in the jurisdiction where they are physically present every 30 days.
  • Sexually Violent Predators must update their registration inperson every 90 days.
  • Convicted sex offenders that have more than one residence address must register at both resiences.

Jessica's Law

History of Jessica's Law 

Jessica Lunsford photoThe law is named after 9 year-old Jessica Lunsford, who was raped and murdered in 2005 by a previously convicted sex offender in Florida. Public outrage over this case spurred Florida officials to introduce this legislation. Among the key provisions of the law are a mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years in prison and lifetime electronic monitoring of adults convicted of lewd or lascivious acts against a victim less than 12 years old. In Florida, sexual battery or rape of a child less than twelve years old is punishable by life imprisonment with no chance of parole.

Proposition 83, also known as Jessica’s Law, was passed by California voters on Nov. 7, 2006 as a way to enhance the state’s ability to detect, track and apprehend sex offenders. Jessica’s Law prohibits sex offenders that are on parole to live within 2,000 feet of parks and schools and mandate Global Positioning System (GPS).  Jessica's Law only applies to convicted sex offender's on parole.

Jessica's Law Residential Restrictions and Tracking

Sex offender parolees released from prison on or after Nov. 8, 2006 are prohibited from living within 2,000 feet of any school and park where children congregate

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) parole agents are actively enforcing Jessica's Law's 2,000 foot residency restrictions.  Non-compliant parolee's can be arrested for violating the terms and conditions of their parole. Parolees released from prison on or after Nov. 8, 2006 must comply with the law's residency requirements.  Beginning August 17, 2007 all sex offender parolees subject to the provisions of Jessica's Law who were out of compliance of residency restrictions were notified of their obligation to relocate. Any parolee's found to be out of compliance of residency restrictions were given limited time to relocate. Transient parolees are strongly encouraged to find housing, but if fail to do so, they have additional requirements; 

  • Must have daily phone contact with their parole agent and have in-person meetings at least once a week. 
  • Prohibited from loitering in or around schools or parks where children regularly gather.
  • Must re-register with their local agency every 30 days.
  • Failure to comply with the above special terms and conditions of their parole are subject to arrest and are referred to the Board of Parole Hearings for a revocation hearing.

Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website

The Dru Sjodin National Sex Offender Public Website (NSOPW) provides an opportunity for jurisdictions to participate in an unprecedented public safety resource by sharing public sex offender data nationwide, working collaboratively for the safety of both adults and children. First established in 2005, NSOPW was renamed by the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act of 2006 in honor of 22-year-old college student Dru Sjodin of Grand Forks, North Dakota, a young woman who was kidnapped and murdered by a sex offender who crossed state lines to commit his crime.

NSOPW is the only government system that exists to link public state, territory, and tribal sex offender registries from one national search site. Parents, employers, and other concerned residents can utilize the Website’s search tool as a safety resource to identify location information on sex offenders residing, working, and attending school not only in their own neighborhoods but in other nearby states and communities as well.